Keith Boyea's Blog

Notes & Commentary on National Security, Current Affairs and Bourbon

Hurricanes Sandy and Katrina and the Iraq War

It strikes me as odd that at this moment I’m living through my second class 1 hurricane since moving to Washington, DC in 2007.  It might be that I didn’t know much, but I never thought Washington was much of a hurricane risk.  Hurricane Sandy is blowing away outside as I type this.

But what I can tell you is that even a category 1 hurricane is scary.  Shit is blowing here—trees are leaning, and we are almost expecting to lose power.  What I can’t imagine is a category 5 hurricane like Katrina.  Which got me thinking.

In my life the two biggest failures of democracy in my lifetime are the Iraq War and hurricane Katrina.  Neither is excusable, but I thought they needed comment.

Written by keithboyea

October 29, 2012 at 7:21 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well said. I have much the same experience….though I missed the 2007 hurricane.

    Constitutional Insurgent

    October 29, 2012 at 8:07 pm


Comments are closed.

