Keith Boyea's Blog

Notes & Commentary on National Security, Current Affairs and Bourbon

tethered together

In my post yesterday, I wondered what America can be tethered to if there’s no foundation to tether to.  I think maybe the answer is that we can be tethered together.  I guess I’d say this is similar to a version of Locke’s social contract.  It gives us support, stability and strength.  I think of it mentally as the tether going laterally rather than vertically.

Compared to something that connects to a solid foundation, this formulation seems a lot less stable. Americans are moving in a lot of different directions at once, with competing goals and politics.  That makes me think this formulation is as untenable as universals are.

Written by keithboyea

June 12, 2012 at 10:07 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

