Keith Boyea's Blog

Notes & Commentary on National Security, Current Affairs and Bourbon

I Love Bourbon: Bookers

My buddy bought found a bottle of Van Winkle Special Reserve 12 Year, Lot B the other day, and because he’s a great friend, he bought if for me and my wife for Christmas.  I promised him that I wouldn’t open it until we could share a dram together.  But its the 10th of January as I write this, and I’m getting itchy…he better hurry.

Today’s review is Booker’s Single Barrel. 63.7% ABV.  This bourbon is straight from the barrel, uncut and unfiltered.

Color: Rich amber, like I think a bourbon should look .

Smell: Alcohol, without being offensive.  I get a load of vanilla nd some wood/oak.

Taste: Complex, sweet, with a long finish.  It hit me on the back of the tongue hard, but this tastes like a MAN’S bourbon. Warm and intense, it is a really good expression of Jim Beam.

Overall, I really enjoy Booker’s.  I like the stripped down, single barrel, uncut and unfiltered idea.

Rating: 3

Written by keithboyea

January 11, 2012 at 6:00 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. All I drink is Booker’s and where I live it’s $48.

    James Simon

    February 14, 2012 at 7:36 pm

    • Bookers is a great bourbon. I really enjoy it, and if I could find it for under $50 in my area, I’d probably drink it more often.

      keithboyea

      February 15, 2012 at 8:04 am


Comments are closed.

