Keith Boyea's Blog

Notes & Commentary on National Security, Current Affairs and Bourbon

Goddamn I love Bourbon, W.L. Weller 7 Year

My wife and I went over to Senart’s for lunch on New Year’s Eve.  The place is fantastic, but it was made especially fantastic because they had a bottle of Pappy Van Winkle 23 year behind the bar.  Pappy Van Winkle is the best bourbon in the world. And that’s not really a subjective statement–bourbon people almost unanimously agree that Pappy is the best.  (Bourbon people do disagree on which expression is the best as the Van Winkles release 15, 20, and 23 year expressions.)  When I saw it, I ordered it immediately.  The fun thing about ordering Pappy is that the bartender immediately knows you have good taste in bourbon.  Try it sometime–next time you see Pappy behind the bar, order it.  You’ll be congratulated. (Don’t order it in a drink or on the rocks– neat or with a small amount of water, please.)

It’s great, if pricey, bourbon.  A pour set me back $30 (not bad for a $200+ bottle cost), but it was worth every penny.  Someday I hope to find a bottle for sale and do a full review.  But for now, head on over to Senart’s on Barracks Row and buy yourself a pour.

The review for today is W.L Weller 7 year old bourbon.  This bottle was 45% ABV.  The Weller brand is a wheated bourbon.  That means they use wheat in place of rye.  (Generally bourbons use a corn+rye+malted barley recipe.)  The wheated bourbon you may be familiar with is Maker’s Mark.

Color: Light copper and amber.  Easily in the color zone that makes bourbon so beautiful to stare at.

Nose: Soft vanilla and citrus in the back of the nose.  Super sweet, some maple syrup in there somewhere.

Taste: Super sweet and oily. No burn on the tounge. Very very sweet, syrupy flavor that makes Maker’s Mark blush.  The flavor strikes me as flat.

Overall I rate this a 2 on the 0-5 scale.  I usually like wheated bourbons–Maker’s Mark was my entry into bourbon.  I really didn’t like this one much, though I do find it more drinkable on a regular basis than the George T. Stagg I reviewed two weeks ago.  For $25 or so, this is worth trying if you like wheated bourbons, and I am looking forward to trying the 12 year expression of this bourbon in the future.

Written by keithboyea

January 4, 2012 at 6:00 am

Posted in Uncategorized

