Keith Boyea's Blog

Notes & Commentary on National Security, Current Affairs and Bourbon

Anti-War Playlist

Even though I indulge in it, the COINdanista vs. COINtra debate always depresses me because it fights over HOW the war should be fought instead of asking the far more important question: “Why should we fight?”  I wish we’d have spent a lot more time pondering the why rather than the how.  I have my anti-war playlist ready for when the COIN debate heats up.

1.) “American Blood” Reckless Kelly
2.) “Blowin’ in the Wind” Bob Dylan
3.) “Fortunate Son” Creedence Clearwater Revival (Link is to a Todd Snider cover)
4.) “Goin’ Nowhere Blues” Robert Earl Keen
5.) “Long Way Home” Cross Canadian Ragweed
6.) “No More War” Eddie Vedder
7.) “The Times They Are A-Changing” Bob Dylan
8.) “War” Edwin Starr
9.) “What’s Going On” Marvin Gaye
10.) “Proud Souls” Jason Boland

Written by keithboyea

December 22, 2011 at 9:27 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] on Dec 22, 2011, 3:30 pmForeign policy wonk and fellow podcaster Keith Boyea just posted his anti-war playlist.Even though I indulge in it, the COINdanista vs. COINtra debate always depresses me because it […]

  2. Who is supposed to ask the Why question, though? Not the practitioners. And the debates are mostly spurred by current or just finished practitioners.

    Don

    December 23, 2011 at 10:37 am

  3. Don,

    I am working on an answer for you on that question, because it is one objection I see a lot. Obviously, I don’t know if it will be convincing, but it is something I’m thinking about.

    Keith

    keithboyea

    December 26, 2011 at 12:55 pm

  4. I’d add Dispatch’s “The General” , U2’s “Sunday, Bloody Sunday” and “And the Band Played Waltzing Matilda” to the list My obscure pick is Elton John’s “Daniel.”

    Also, “Fixin to die rag” as the other blog pointed out, is a classic.

    Actually, as I write this, way more songs are coming to mind. “Eve of Destruction” “Candles in the Wind” “get Together” and “United We Stand”

    Eric C

    December 26, 2011 at 12:57 pm


Comments are closed.

