Keith Boyea's Blog

Notes & Commentary on National Security, Current Affairs and Bourbon

What I’m Reading, 16 December 2011

A review of things I’ve read this week and liked.

Books:

What It Is Like to Go to War, Karl Marlantes

This book reminds me a lot of War is a Force that Gives Us Meaning by Chris Hedges.  There is a lot of brutally honest discussion in both volumes of how war affects a person.  Both are worthy of your time, but Marlantes is the more bracing book.  He’s completely honest with the reader and himself, almost uncomfortably so.

Magazines:

The Politics of Perception, in The New Yorker, by Connie Bruck

This is a very long profile of Newt Gingrich written in Oct 1995.  It didn’t change the way I felt about him–I think he’s a complete asshole–but I found it interesting that Newt was every bit the asshole in 1995 that he is in 2011.  Not that I would have expected anything less.

Living By Default, in The New Yorker, by James Surowiecki

I had a long, drunken conversation with a friend about this several months ago.  Corporations are applauded for declaring bankruptcy, but when individuals do it they are irresponsible.  The conversation centered around student loans, mainly, but Surowiecki has a nice take on the situation.

Whiskey Advocate

The latest issue came last week and I’m just getting to it now.  I love the whiskey reviews–imagine it being your job to taste whiskey!

 

Written by keithboyea

December 16, 2011 at 6:00 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey, I just popped into your blog from Andrew Sullivan’s, so, I don’t know if you’ve already read or mentioned this, but I think you’ll find this a fascinating read (if you haven’t checked it out yet). The Surowiecki got me thinking about it.

    http://www.amazon.com/Debt-First-5-000-Years/dp/1933633867/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1324231684&sr=8-1

    I put the Marlantes book on my wishlist :’) thanks for the rec.

    Also, this is totally non-sequitor, but here’s a friend of mine’s blog you might find interesting (or not, if you weren’t so fond of The Denial of Death— it’s one of her favorite books, or possibly her favorite book, I forget). My favorite section is the essays, but, the blog gets updated the most.

    http://www.orderofthegooddeath.com/

    Anyway, thanks for the interesting and candid posts.

    Avi

    December 18, 2011 at 1:14 pm

  2. Thanks for the recommendations. I added the book to my wishlist and I’ll pick it up the next time do an Amazon order. I’m going through the website now–looks interesting. Thanks for stopping by and reading!

    keithboyea

    December 18, 2011 at 1:34 pm


Comments are closed.

