Keith Boyea's Blog

Notes & Commentary on National Security, Current Affairs and Bourbon

Goddamn I love Bourbon, Old Grand-Dad 100 BiB

When I was in my mid-20s I picked up scotch.  Scotch is a fantastic drink; it seemed to me to mark my maturity into a grown man, my passage from beer drinking adolescent to a man with taste and class.  To this day I still enjoy a nice single malt.

Then I met my wife.  My wife has always been a bourbon drinker.  Before I met my wife, I thought bourbon was something that men who beat their wives drank.  I’m embarrassed I ever thought that. About a year into our courtship, we took a vacation to the Kentucky bourbon trail.  I fell in love with the craftsmanship of bourbon, the fact that it is a quintessentially American drink.  In fact, for something to be called bourbon, it has to be made in the United States.  There are a few other requirements: it has to be 51% corn; it has to be aged in new charred oak barrels; it has barrel entry proof restrictions and there are certain rules regarding what a bourbon can claim on its label. (And I’m probably missing something.)

Since I love bourbon, I’m going to write about it some.  Some months back I started writing tasting notes to the bourbon I try in a small moleskin.  I’ve got 22 written, and I’m going to share one of them each week.  (The list keeps growing too.)  My first review is Old Grand Dad 100 proof Bottled in Bond.  $18.99 at Harry’s Reserve.

I should point out that I have a terrible palate.  I’m working on developing it, but before I got really into bourbon there were only two categories of taste: like and dislike.

Color: Light amber/copper.  A little lighter than what I think of when I think bourbon.

Nose: A bit sharp, some oak and a citrus I couldn’t place.  Could be orange.

Taste: Spicy with a bit of fire from the 100 proof.  The finish stayed with me on the tip of my tongue.  I definitely tasted the spicy rye influence.  Other tasters hae said this is a “dry” bourbon and I agree–this didn’t “stick” to the sides of my tongue like some other bourbons.

Overall: 2 (see below for scoring system)

Since I never know what makes a bourbon a 95 vs. a 93 on a 100 point scale, I decided to use a super simple 5 point scale:

0: Drink only if the wife left and took the TV

1: Drink if there’s nothing else and the liquor store is closed

2: Just okay

3: Everyday enjoyable, serve to guests

4: Top of the line

The bottle is actually orange; the flash distorted the color.

Written by keithboyea

December 15, 2011 at 6:00 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Love this topic….Old Grand Dad was introduced to me by Ernesto in Honduras, fun times!

    Matt

    December 16, 2011 at 9:14 am

  2. […] I rate this a 2, which is a “just okay” bourbon in my system. It was highly disappointing to me given the hype surrounding the product.  I’ve tried this […]

  3. A … “2” … Really!

    Grand Dad 100 is the center of gravity that all bourbons rotate around.
    To label it even 2.5 is missing the big picture.
    Its as central to the equation as E=MC2.

    To being back to balance … I must bitch slap you!
    Get back to that “like & dislike” rating system.

    You have no taste!

    WillyL

    March 3, 2012 at 1:44 am


Comments are closed.

