Keith Boyea's Blog

Notes & Commentary on National Security, Current Affairs and Bourbon

More on Responsibility and Forgiveness

In light of my post yesterday, I wanted to point people in the direction of Andrew Bacevich’s latest essay.    In it he discusses “cheap grace,” which he describes as “unearned self-forgiveness and undeserved self-regard.”  For Zosima, forgiveness is not possible without a recognition of responsibility.  Contemporary civil society in the United States has forgiven itself for the world’s many evils without taking a breath of responsibility for it.

My brother, a dedicated Catholic, (Contrasting nicely with my refusal to participate in prayers at Christmas dinner) commented to me yesterday that his religion requires the forgiveness of all.  I have a lot of respect for my brother–he really means that.  But it isn’t the Catholic Church, which is dying in America, that comes to mind when I think of  “cheap grace.”  I think of contemporary evangelicalism.

Written by keithboyea

July 28, 2011 at 11:10 am

Posted in Uncategorized

